Hall of Fame shortstop Ozzie Smith won 13 Gold Gloves during a 19-year career that established him as one of the greatest defensive players the game has ever known.

Indeed, Smith’s baker’s dozen Gold Gloves (all in the National League) ties him for fourth on the all-time list at any position, behind pitchers Greg Maddux (18) and Jim Kaat (16), and third baseman Brooks Robinson (16), and in a dead heat with catcher Ivan Rodriguez.

Beginning his career with the San Diego Padres in 1978, The Wizard of Oz won his first two Gold Gloves with the Friars in 1980 and 1981 before a trade after that strike-torn latter season sent him to the St. Louis Cardinals.

There in the shadow of the Gateway Arch, Ozzie won 11 more Gold Gloves, all in a row, as he helped the Cardinals win three National League pennants (1982, 1985, 1987) and a World Series title (1982) on his way to Cooperstown.

Here is a complete rundown of the fabled Ozzie Smith Gold Gloves:

  • 1980, San Diego Padres
  • 1981, San Diego Padres
  • 1982, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1983, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1984, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1985, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1986, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1987, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1988, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1989, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1990, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1991, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1992, St. Louis Cardinals

Smith played with the Cards through 1996 and was elected to the Hall of Fame on his first ballot in 2002.