The New York Mets last won the World Series in 1986, when they defeated the Boston Red Sox, 4 games to 3.

The only other time the Mets won the World Series was in 1969, their eighth season in existence after entering the National League as an expansion team in 1962.

That year, Brooklyn Dodgers legend Gil Hodges managed a young Mets team into surprise contention and during the first season that featured divisional play.

In all the Mets have appeared in five World Series:

1969 — Beat the Baltimore Orioles, 4 games to 1

1973 — Lost to the Oakland A’s, 3 games to 4

1986 — Beat the Boston Red Sox, 4 games to 3

2000 — Lost to the New York Yankees, 1 game to 4

2015 — Lost to the Kansas City Royals, 1 game to 4