Believe it or not, among clubs active in 2022, there are 6 teams that have never won a World Series.

Here is a complete rundown of those franchises, along with some information about how long they’ve been toiling with no trophy to show for their troubles. These listings are ordered by the teams’ first year in MLB, shown in parentheses.

Texas Rangers (1961)

The Rangers began life as the expansion Washington Senators after the original Sens became the Minnesota Twins. But, while Minnesota has seen a pair of titles, the Rangers didn’t even make the playoffs until 1996.

They did make it to the World Series in both 2010 and 2011 but lost in five and seven games, respectively.

San Diego Padres (1969)

One of four expansion teams in 1969, the Padres didn’t taste October baseball until 1984. They lost the Series in five games to an all-time great Tigers team that year and were swept by an all-time great Yankees team in 1998 … and haven’t been back to the Fall Classic since.

Milwaukee Brewers (1969)

Another 1969 expansion club, the Brewers spent one year as the Seattle Pilots before moving to Milwaukee for the 1970 season. They famously lost the 1982 World Series in seven games to the St. Louis Cardinals, but they haven’t been back since.

On a side note, a third 1969 expansion team, the Montreal Expos, never made it to the World Series … but the franchise won a title in 2019 as the Washington Nationals.

The fourth newcomer in ’69 was the Kansas City Royals, who have won two World Series and appeared in two others.

Seattle Mariners (1977)

The Mariners were one of two new teams for the 1977 season, but despite closing in on 50 years of MLB play, they’ve never even made it to one World Series. They did make it to the ALCS in 1995, 2000, and 2001, but the M’s haven’t been back to the playoffs since.

The other new team in 1977? The Toronto Blue Jays, who won back-to-back World Series in 1992 and 1993.

Colorado Rockies (1993)

The Rockies slugged their way into the major league play in 1993, right alongside the Florida Marlins. But, while the Marlins streaked to titles in 1997 and 2003, Colorado has yet to win a World Series.

They did make it to the Fall Classic in 2007, where they were promptly swept by the Boston Red Sox.

Tampa Bay Rays (1998)

The Tampa Bay Rays were the Devil Rays when they debuted in 1998, along with the Arizona Diamondbacks. The D’Backs won a thrilling 7-game World Series over the New York Yankees in 2001, while the Rays would have to wait a decade for their first late October action.

Tampa has never won a title, but they did win American League pennants in both 2008 and 2020.

You might also like our list of teams that have never been to the World Series.